The Woman All Spies Fear

Code Breaker Elizebeth Smith Friedman and Her Hidden Life
Hardcover Library Binding

The Woman All Spies Fear book cover
Buy
Add The Woman All Spies Fear to Goodreads

An inspring true story, perfect for fans of Hidden Figures, about an American woman who pioneered codebreaking in WWI and WWII but was only recently recognized for her extraordinary contributions.

Elizebeth Smith Friedman always had a penchant for solving riddles. It was this skill that led her to become one of the top cryptanalysts in America during both World War I and World War II.
 
She originally came to codebreaking through her love for Shakespeare when she was hired by an eccentric billionaire to prove that Shakespeare's plays had secret messages in them and were written by Frances Bacon. Though she concluded that there weren't any secret messages in the plays, she learned so much about coding that she went on to play a major role decoding messages during WWI and WWII and also for the Coast Guard's war against smugglers.
 
Elizebeth and her husband, William, became the top codebreaking team in the US, and she did it all at a time when women weren't a welcome presence in the workforce.

Amy Butler Greenfield is an award-winning historian and novelist who aims to shed light on this unsung female pioneer of the STEM community.

The Sisters Sweet

A young woman in a vaudeville sister act must learn to forge her own path after her twin runs away to Hollywood in this richly immersive debut about love, family, and… More

Get Untamed

This stunning hardcover journal is a bold, interactive guide to discovering and creating the truest, most beautiful lives, families, and world we can imagine, based on the #1 New York Times bestseller Untamed. “We… More